When you believe Jesus is God, do you think he died?

In Christendom the majority of those calling themselves “Christian” do believe Jesus is God.

We wonder what they do with the believe that there would have come a sent one from God who would die for our sins and give freedom to all. Do you believe that Jesus died to pay for the sins of all people? In such case you should also believe that Jesus died. But what do you do then with the Bible sayings that God (or if they want: Jesus) is an eternal and immortal Spirit Being that no man can see? Because Jesus was seen by many, who did not fall death, though no man can see God and live.

When Jehovah God spoke Moses figuratively ‘face to face,’ He mentioned Who and What He was. From Him Moses also got to know that no man can see God and live. God replies to both of Moses’ requests: He will let him know His ways (v. 19) and grant him a partial visual experience, but a full visual experience would be fatal (vv. 20–23).

17 And Jehovah will say to Moses, Also this word which thou spakest, I will do: for thou didst find grace in mine eyes and I shall know thee by name.
18 And he will say, Cause me now to see thy glory.
19 And he will say, I will cause all my good to pass by before thee, and I called upon the name of Jehovah before thee; and I compassionated whom I will compassionate, and I pitied whom I will pity.
20 And he will say, Thou shalt not be able to see my face: for none shall see my face, and live.
21 And Jehovah will say, Behold, a place with me, and stand thou upon the rock.
22 And it was in the passing by of my glory, and I put thee in a cavern of the rock; and I hedged in with my hand upon thee till I passed by.
23 And I turned aside my hand, and thou sawest behind me: and they shall not see my face.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Ex 33:17–23). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

To “see God’s face” is to have access to Him and to enjoy His favour, but that is only given to angels but not man. All people should know Jesus was seen by many, though they did not drop death. Jesus even managed to get people out of the dead, so that they could see him also and speak and eat with him. Jesus came to talk about the Words and Works of God. He let others know that Jehovah, his heavenly Father was with him listening to them, like He did in previous ages, listening to His people. Today we too should listen to what God has to say, and therefore should go near to Him, even when we cannot see Him.

24 Come thou near and hear all that Jehovah our God shall say; and thou shalt speak to us all that Jehovah our God will speak to thee: and we heard and we did.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Dt 5:24). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

We all should know that Jesus was a man of flesh and blood, and not some ghost. His heavenly Father though is well a Spirit.

24 God a Spirit: and they worshipping him must worship in spirit and truth.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 4:24). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

Jesus diedThe Nazarene man of flesh and blood who many had seen doing wonders was really tempted (though God can not be tempted), bullied more than once, and brought to death at a piece of wood. After his death he was buried to be raised up from the dead after three days in the grave. After his resurrection he also showed himself to others. On one occasion he let those around him know that opposite God Who is a Spirit he is no spirit, but a man of flesh an blood now marked with wounds.

34 Saying, That truly the Lord was risen, and was seen to Simon.
35 And they recounted the things in the way, and how he was known to them in the breaking of bread.
36 And they speaking these things, Jesus himself stood in the midst of them, and he says to them, Peace to you.
37 And they, struck with awe and being afraid, thought to see a spirit.
38 And he said to them, Why have ye been troubled? and wherefore do reflections come up in your hearts?
39 See my hands and my feet, for I am he; feel, and see: for a spirit has not flesh and bones, as ye see me having.
40 And having said this, he showed them hands and feet.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Lk 24:34–40). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

In case Jesus died and could stand up, out of the dead he can not be immortal. When he would be God than this god would have told lies on several occasions. First about his impossibility of man doing something to Him and Him being immortal.

16 For I am not ashamed of the good news of Christ: for it is the power of God to salvation to all believing; both to the Jew first, and the Greek.
17 For the justice of God in it is revealed from faith to faith: as has been written, And the just shall live by faith.
18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven upon all profanation and injustice of men, of those detaining the truth in injustice;
19 Wherefore that known of God is manifest in them; for God manifested to them.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world, being understood by things made, are inspected, truly both his eternal power and divinity; so that they are inexcusable:
21 Wherefore having known God, not as God did they honour or return thanks; but were rendered vain in their conversations, and their heart without understanding was darkened.

22 Declaring themselves to be wise, they were fools,
23 And they changed the glory of the incorruptible God {14th century: incapable of corruption: as a: not subject to decay or dissolution + b: incapable of being bribed or morally corrupted – Merriam-Webster, I. (2003). Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary. (Eleventh ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, Inc.} into the likeness of an image of corruptible man, and of flying things, and of creeping things, and of quadrupeds.
24 Wherefore God delivered them in the eager desire of their hearts to uncleanness, to dishonour their bodies in themselves:
25 Who changed the truth of God into a falsehood, and reverenced and served the creation above him creating, who is praised forever. Amen.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Ro 1:16–25). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

17 And to the King of times, immortal, invisible, the only wise God, honour and glory for the times of times. (Amen.)

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (1 Ti 1:17). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

For the Hebrews there was only One Being immortal. By that, they understood that Being not having a beginning, i.e. not having a birth and not having an end, i.e. not having a death and as such nobody able to kill that Being, Jehovah God being exempt from death. In the English language immortal also means still the same as in the ancient times.

Someone or something that is immortal will live or last for ever and never die or be destroyed

Free online dictionary, thesaurus and reference material: definition of immortalimmortal in British; in American

1im•mor•tal \(ˌ)i-ˈmȯr-təl\ adjective
[Middle English, from Latin immortalis, from in- + mortalis mortal] 14th century
1: exempt from death 〈the immortal gods〉
2: exempt from oblivion: IMPERISHABLE 〈immortal fame〉
3: connected with or relating to immortality
4: able or tending to divide indefinitely 〈immortal cell lines produced in culture〉—im•mor•tal•ly \-təl-ē\ adverb

2immortal noun
1616
1 a: one exempt from death
b ploften capitalized: the gods of the Greek and Roman pantheon
2 a: a person whose fame is lasting
b capitalized: any of the 40 members of the Académie Française

Merriam-Webster, I. (2003). Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary. (Eleventh ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, Inc.

Jesus knew very well he was not imperishable and very well knew the consequences when he would go to Jerusalem to be taken by the Roman soldiers, to be brought before court. Jesus did not persist to follow his own will but preferred doing the will of his heavenly Father, Who belongs the right to rule everything. In case Jesus would be God, he naturally would always have done his own will when he would have done the Will of God. Several occasions Jesus spoke about that Will of his heavenly Father, as being not his Will but the Will of God. He never gave the impression that his will would be the Will of God, though when Jesus is God his will is also the Will of God.

21 Not every one saying to me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of the heavens; but he doing the will of my Father who is in the heavens.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 7:21). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

50 For whoever should do the will of my Father, him in the heavens, the same is my brother, and sister, and mother.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 12:50). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

39 And having gone forward a little, he fell upon his face, praying, and saying, My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass away from me: but not as I will, but as thou.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 26:39). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

42 Again of a second time, having gone away, he prayed, saying, My Father if this cup cannot pass away from me except I drink it, let thy will be.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 26:42). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

36 And he said, Abba, Father, all things possible to thee; turn away this cup from me: but not what I will, but what thou.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mk 14:36). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

41 And he was removed from them about a stone’s cast, and having placed the knees, he prayed,
42 Saying, Father, If thou art willing, turn aside this cup from me: but not my will, but thine, be done.
43 And a messenger was seen to him from heaven, strengthening him.
44 And being in a violent struggle, he prayed more intently: and his sweat was as clots of blood coming down upon the earth.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Lk 22:41–44). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

Pontius Pilate the good confession;
14 For thee to keep the command spotless, irreprehensible, until the appearance of our Lord Jesus Christ:
15 Which the blessed and only sovereign shall show in his own times, the King of those reigning, and Lord of those ruling;
16 Who only having immortality, inhabiting inaccessible light; which none of men saw, nor can see; to whom honour and might forever. Amen.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (1 Ti 6:13–16). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

When Jesus would be God he would also be talking and praying to himself. People should listen to his words and come to believe that it is God Who has sent Jesus to earth.

These spake Jesus, and lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, Father, the hour has come; honour thy Son, that thy Son honour thee:
2 As thou gavest him the power of all flesh, that every one which thou hast given him, he should give to them eternal life.
3 And this is eternal life, that they might know thee the only true God, and whom thou hast sent, Jesus Christ.
4 I honoured thee upon earth: I finished the work which thou hast given me that I should do.
5 And now, honour thou me, O Father, with thyself, with the honour which I had with thee before the world was.
6 I manifested thy name to the men which thou hast given me from the world: they were to thee, and thou hast given them to me; and they have kept thy word.
7 Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.
8 For the words which thou hast given me, I have given them; and they received, and knew in truth that I came out from thee, and they believed that thou sentest me.
9 I ask for them: I ask not for the world, but for them thou hast given me: for they are to thee.
10 And all my things are thine, and thine mine; and I have been honoured in them.
11 And I am no more in the world, and these are in the world, and I come to thee. O holy Father, keep them in thy name whom thou hast given me, that they might be one, as we.
12 When I was with them in the world, I kept them in thy name: those thou hast given me I watched, and not one of them perished, except the son of perdition; that the writing might be completed.
13 And now come I to thee; and these things I speak in the world, that I might have my joy completed in them.
14 have given them thy word; and the world hated them, for they are not of the world, as I am not of the world.
15 I ask not that thou take them out of the world, but that thou keep them from the evil.
16 They are not of the world, as I am not of the world.
17 Render them holy in thy truth: thy word is truth.
18 As thou sentest me into the world, I also sent them into the world.
19 And for them I render myself holy, that they also be rendered holy in the truth;
20 And I ask not for these alone, but also for them believing in me through their word;
21 That all might be one; as thou, Father, in me, and I in thee, that they also be one in us; that the world might believe that thou sentest me.
22 And I, the honour which thou hast given me, have given them; that they might be one, as we are one.
23 I in them, and thou in me, that they might be perfected in one: and that the world might know that thou sentest me, and lovedst them, as thou lovedst me.
24 O Father, those thou hast given me, I will that where I am these also be with me: that they might behold my glory, which thou gavest me: for thou lovedst me before the foundation of the world.
25 O just Father, the world knew thee not: but I knew thee, and these knew that thou didst send me.
26 And I made known to them thy name, and I will make known: that the love with which thou lovedst me might be in them, and I in them.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 17:1–26). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

Here we do not find an “incarnate Son of God”, but a true person with human feelings, talking about his possibility to go to his heavenly Father, (not going to himself or taking back his place in heaven of the Most High). From the text we can clearly come to see that Jesus considers himself to be the sent one from God and not being God having come down to earth. Jesus knows what is going to come and that before he goes to his heavenly Father he shall have to go by the route of a desperately shameful and painful death. He prays that the course on which he is embarked will bring glory not to himself but to his heavenly Father, Who is recognised by Jesus as well as by Abraham and other prophets as the Only One True God, the God of gods.

Jesus had done his best to live free of sins and now expresses his hope that his followers, in consequence of his own death and exaltation, will be preserved from evil and for the priceless privilege of seeing Jesus’ glory, all the while imitating in their own relationship the reciprocity of love displayed by the Father and by him, him being the son of God.
In some respects the prayer is a summary of the entire Fourth Gospel to this point. Its principal themes include Jesus’ obedience to his Father (and not to himself), the glorification of his Father through Jesus his death/exaltation, the revelation of God in Christ Jesus, the choosing of the disciples out of the world, their mission to the world, their unity modelled on the unity of the Father and the son, and their final destiny in the presence of the Father and the son.
To cast this summary in the form of a prayer is not only to anticipate Jesus’ being ‘lifted up’ on the torture stake, but to contribute to the climax of the movement that brings Christ back to God — one of the central themes of the farewell discourse (cf. Dodd, IFG, pp. 419–420 – C. H. Dodd, The Interpretation of the Fourth Gospel; Cambridge University Press, 1953)

We may not forget that the people of God received bread from heaven, but we have received an other bread from heaven. Jesus, the sent one form God should be our bread of life. By believing that Jesus Christ is the sent one from god, the heavenly bread, we can receive life. that is why it is so important to come to believe in Jesus Christ, being the sent one from God, who was authorised by God and made higher by God, to be a mediator between Him (Jehovah God) and man.

32 Then said Jesus to them, Truly, truly, I say to you, Moses has not given you bread from heaven; but my Father gives you true bread from heaven.
33 For the bread of God is he coming down from heaven, and giving life to the world.
34 Then said they to him, Lord, always give us this bread.
35 And Jesus said to them, I am the bread of life: he coming to me should not hunger; and he believing in me should not thirst.
36 But I said to you, That ye have seen me, and believe not.
37 All that the Father gives me shall come to me; and he coming to me I will not cast out.
38 For I have come down from heaven, not that I might do my will, but the will of him having sent me.
39 And this is the will of the Father having sent me, that all which he has given me, I should not loose of it, but raise it up in the last day.
40 And this is the will of him having sent me, that every one seeing the Son, and believing in him, should have eternal life: and I will raise him up at the last day.
41 Then murmured the Jews about him, because he said, I am the bread having come down from heaven.
42 And they said, Is not this Jesus, Joseph’s son, whose father and mother we know? how then says he, That I have come down from heaven?
43 Then answered Jesus and said to them, Murmur not with one another.
44 None can come to me, except the Father having sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.
45 It is written in the prophets, And they shall be all taught of God. Every one therefore having heard and learned of the Father, comes to me.
46 Not that any one has seen the Father, except he being from God, he has seen the Father.
47 Truly, truly, I say to you, he believing in me has eternal life.
48 I am the bread of life.
49 Your fathers ate manna in the desert, and died.
50 This is the bread which coming down from heaven, that whoever should eat of it, and he should not die.
51 I am the living bread which having come down from heaven: if any one eat of this bread, he shall live forever: and also the bread which I shall give is my flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world.
52 Then the Jews contended with one another, saying, How can he give us the flesh to eat?
53 Then said Jesus to them, Truly, truly, I say to you, except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in yourselves.
54 He chewing my flesh, and drinking my blood, has eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.
55 For my flesh is truly food, and my blood is truly drink.
56 He chewing my flesh, and drinking my blood, remains in me, and I in him.
57 As the living Father sent me, and I live through the Father: also he chewing me, the same also shall live through me.
58 This is the bread which having come down from heaven: not as your fathers ate manna, and died: he chewing this bread shall live forever.
59 He said these, teaching in the synagogue, in Capernaum.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 6:32–59). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

The sent one of God was captured and tortured and then nailed to a wooden pole as a death penalty.

17 And Jesus, going up to Jerusalem, took the twelve disciples apart in the way, and he said to them,
18 Behold, we go up to Jerusalem; and the Son of man shall be delivered to the chief priests and scribes, and they shall condemn him to death,
19 And they shall deliver him to the nations to mock, and scourge, and crucify: and he shall be raised the third day.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 20:17–19). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

2 Ye know that after two days is the passover, and the Son of man shall be delivered to be crucified.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 26:2). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

According to us Jesus is the way to God, and not God Himself and as such not the way to himself, but the way to the Only One True God Who is One.

6 Jesus says to him, I am the way, and the truth, and the life: no one comes to the Father, except by me.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 14:6). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

That son of man, who fitted the Plan of God, was now led to Golgotha to be impaled. From ancient times it was said he would be bruised, crushed as a sacrifice for sin.

10 And Jehovah inclined to crush him; piercing him when his soul shall be set a sacrifice for sin, he shall see seed, he shall prolong the days, and the delight of Jehovah shall prosper in his hand.
11 And he shall see of the labor of his soul, he shall be satisfied: by his knowledge my just servant shall justify for many; and he shall bear their iniquities.
12 For this I will divide to him with many, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong; for which his soul was poured out to death, and he was numbered with transgressors; and he lifted up the sin of many, and he will supplicate for transgressors.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Is 53:10–12). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

To “crush” means destroying something. Jesus his life was put down. Jesus got “bruised” or received contusion. Man can do God nothing but here we find man bringing a lot of damage to Jesus. Bringing injury to him, even causing him to die (whilst God can not die – remember).

injury to tissues with skin discoloration and without breakage of skin; called also bruise. Blood from the broken vessels accumulates in surrounding tissues, producing pain, swelling, and tenderness, and the discoloration is the result of blood seepage just under the skin. Most heal without special treatment, but cold compresses may reduce bleeding if applied immediately after the injury, and thus may reduce swelling, discoloration, and pain.

If a contusion is unusually severe, the injured part should be rested and slightly elevated; later application of heat may hasten absorption of blood. Serious complications may develop in some cases. Normally blood is drawn off from the bruised area in a few days, but occasionally blood clotted in the area may form a cyst or may calcify and require surgical treatment. Contusions may also be complicated by infection.

But with Jesus water came out of his heart, so that the soldiers decided that he was really death and that they did not have to break his bones.

24 And Pilate, seeing that it profits nothing, but there is rather an uproar, having taken water, he washed his hands before the crowd, saying, I am guiltless of the blood of this just one: ye shall see yourselves.
25 And all the people having answered, said, His blood upon us, and upon our children.
26 Then he loosed to them Barabbas: and having scourged Jesus, delivered him up, that he might be crucified.
27 Then the soldiers of the leader, having taken Jesus to the Pretorium, gathered together the whole band against him.
28 And having unclothed him, they put round him a scarlet, loose, warm cloak.
29 And having twined a crown of thorns, they put upon his head: and a reed upon his right hand: and having fallen upon the knees before him, they mocked him, saying, Hail, King of the Jews!
30 And having spit upon him, they took the reed, and struck upon his head.
31 And when they mocked him, they put off from him the loose, warm cloak, and put on him his garments, and brought him away to crucify.
32 And coming, they found a man, a Cyrenian, Simon by name; they compelled him that he should lift up his cross.

33 And having come to the place called Golgotha, which is called the place of the skull,
34 They gave him vinegar to drink, mingled with bile: and having tasted, he would not drink.
35 And having crucified him, they divided his garments among them, casting lot: that that spoken by the prophet might be filled up: They divided among them my garments, and upon my clothing they cast lot.
36 And sitting down, they observed him there.

37 And they set above his head his accusation, having been written: THIS IS JESUS THE KING OF THE JEWS.
38 Then were crucified with him two robbers; one from the right hand, and the other from the left.
39 And they coming near, blasphemed him, shaking their heads,
40 And saying, He loosing the temple, and building in three days, save thyself: if thou art the Son of God, come down from the cross.
41 And likewise also the chief priests mocking, with the scribes and elders, said,
42 Others he saved; himself he cannot save. If he is King of Israel, let him now come down from the cross, and we will believe him:
43 He trusted upon God; let him now deliver him, if he desires him: for he said, That I am the Son of God.
44 And the robbers crucified with him, reproached him with the same.

45 And from the sixth hour, darkness was upon all the earth, even to the ninth hour.
46 And about the ninth hour, Jesus cried out with a great voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? this is, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

47 And some of them standing there, having heard, said, That he calls Elias.
48 And quickly one of them, having run, and taken a sponge, and filled with vinegar, and put upon a reed, gave him to drink.
49 And the rest said, Let go: we should see if Elias comes, going to save him.
50 And Jesus, again having cried with a great voice, let go the spirit. {our note: i.e. Jesus died}

51 And, behold, the covering of the temple was cleft in two, from above to below; and the earth was shaken; and the rocks were cleft:
52 And the tombs were opened: and many bodies of the holy ones, having been set to sleep, were raised,
53 And having come forth from the tombs, after his arising, went into the holy city, and were exhibited to many.
54 And the centurion, and they with him, observing Jesus, having seen the shaking, and the things having been, were greatly afraid, saying, Truly this was the Son of God.

55 And many women were there, beholding from far off, who followed Jesus out of Galilee, serving him:
56 Among whom was Mary Magdalene, and Mary the mother of James and Joses, and the mother of Zebedee’s sons.
57 And being evening, then there came a rich man from Arimathea, Joseph by name, who also himself was a disciple to Jesus:
58 He having come to Pilate, asked the body of Jesus. Then Pilate ordered the body to be given back.
59 And Joseph having taken the body, inwrapped it in clean fine linen.
60 And put it in his new tomb, which he quarried in the rock: and having rolled a great stone to the door of the tomb, he departed.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 27:24–60). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

22 And they bring him to the place Golgotha, which is, interpreted, The place of a skull.
23 And they gave him wine to drink, prepared with myrrh: and he took not.
24 And having crucified him, they divided his garments, casting lots upon what any should take up.
25 And it was the third hour, and they crucified him:
26 And the inscription of his accusation was inscribed above, THE KING OF THE JEWS.
27 And with him they crucify two robbers; one from the right, and one from the left.
28 And the writing was completed, saying, And he was reckoned with the lawless.
29 And they going by blasphemed him, shaking their heads, and saying, Ah, thou loosing the temple, and building in three days,
30 Save thyself, and come down from the cross.
31 And likewise also the chief priests, mocking to one another with the scribes, said, He saved others; himself he cannot save.
32 Let Christ, King of Israel, come down from the cross, that we might see and believe. And they crucified with him reproached him.

33 And being the sixth hour, darkness was upon the whole earth till the ninth hour.
34 And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a great voice, saying, Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani? which is, being interpreted, My God, my God, for what hast thou forsaken me?

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mk 15:22–34). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

When Jesus is God he could not forsake or abandon himself, because in such instance the choice and meaning of the word would be wrong and not in place. As if god would forsake or to give up Himself, certainly when we got tl orean that Jesus is someone formerly held dear, namely His only beloved son! when God would leave Himself altogether or abandon Himself there would be no God or Being any more. Furthermore you could ask why God would abandon, avoid, default, defect, depart, disclaim, discontinue, disinherit, disown, evacuate, evade, fail, forgo, forswear, leave, neglect, quit, refrain, relinquish, renounce, resign, surrender, withdraw Himself or would cry at Himself why He would do such a thing!

For•sake \fər-ˈsāk, fȯr-\ verb transitive
for•sook \-ˈsu̇k\; for•sak•en \-ˈsā-kən\; for•sak•ing [Middle English, from Old English forsacan, from for- + sacan to dispute; akin to Old English sacu action at law—more at SAKE] before 12th century: to renounce or turn away from entirely 〈friends have forsaken her〉 〈forsook the theater for politics〉 synonym see ABANDON

Merriam-Webster, I. (2003). Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary. (Eleventh ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, Inc.

We have learned that Jesus wanted to put his own will aside, to do the Will of his heavenly Father, the Only One True God. It is in That God of Israel that Jesus in the end put down his life.

44 And it was about the sixth hour, and darkness was upon all the earth till the ninth hour.
45 And the sun was darkened, and the covering of the temple was split in the middle.
46 And Jesus having cried with a great voice, said, Father, into thy hands will I commit my spirit: and having said these, he expired.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Lk 23:44–46). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

23 Then the soldiers, when they crucified Jesus, took his garments and made four parts, to each soldier a part: and also the coat: and the coat was unsewn through the whole, having been woven from above.
24 Then said they to one another, Let us not divide it, but let us draw lots for it, whose it shall be: that the writing might be completed, saying, They divided my garments to themselves, and upon my clothing cast they the lot. Then truly did the soldiers these things.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 19:23–24). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

28 After this, Jesus knowing that all things were already completed, that the writing might be finished, says, I thirst.
29 Then was set a vessel full of vinegar: and they having filled a sponge with vinegar, put upon hyssop, and brought near to his mouth.
30 When Jesus therefore took the vinegar, he said, It has been finished: and having bent the head, he delivered up the spirit.

31 Then the Jews, that the bodies remain not upon the cross in the sabbath, since it was the preparation, (for great was the day of that sabbath,) asked Pilate that their legs be broken, and they be taken away.
32 Then came the soldiers, and truly brake the legs of the first, and of the other crucified with him.
33 And upon having come to Jesus, when they saw him already dead, they brake not his legs:
34 But one of the soldiers with a javelin pricked his side, and quickly came out blood and water.
35 And he having seen has testified, and his testimony is true: and he knows that he says true, that ye might believe.

36 For these were that the writing be completed, A bone of him shall not be broken.
37 And again another writing says, They shall look on whom they goaded.

38 And after these, Joseph of Arimathea, being a disciple of Jesus, in secret, for fear of the Jews, asked Pilate that he might take away the body of Jesus: and Pilate conceded. He came then, and took the body of Jesus.
39 And Nicodemus also came, he having come to Jesus at first by night, bringing a mixture of myrrh and aloes, about one hundred pounds.
40 Then took they the body of Jesus, and bound it in linen bandages with spices, as the custom is to the Jews to prepare a body for interment.
41 And in the place where he was crucified, was a garden; and in the garden a new tomb, in which no one was ever laid.
42 There, therefore, on account of the Jews’ preparation, because the tomb was near, they laid Jesus.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 19:28–42). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

For those who could not witness the impalement of Christ, the events were written down, so we all could come ot know. We also have the words of theother prophets, so that we with the words of Jesus Christ can find peace in all his words and in what happened. In the world we should know that many would be against us, who respect Jesus for what he has done. We also know there shall come even more tribulation. But take heart; Jesus teh son of God has overcome the world. (John 16:33)

By doing the Will of God Jesus got blessed by his heavenly Father, made higher than angels, he could come to sit next to God, to be His mediator between Him and man. (see next article) We all should know that the world and its desires shall pass away, but Jesus and those whoever do the will of God shall receive life forever. (1 John 2:15-17)

Jesus really died and after his death came the proof that man can stand up from death. In case Jesus would be God, we naturally would have no proof at all that it would be possible for man to stand up from the dead. But in the son of man, Jesus, the Christ, we not only have our saviour, but also the proof of what also can come over us. AgainJesus was seen, though nobody can see God.

And after the sabbaths, in the shining forth to one of the sabbaths, came Mary Magdalene and the other Mary to behold the tomb.
2 And, behold, there was a great shaking; for a messenger of the Lord, having come down out of heaven, having come near, rolled away the stone from the door, and sat above it.
3 And his aspect was as lightning, and his garment white as snow.
4 And from fear of him the keepers were shaken, and were as dead.
5 And the messenger, having answered, said to the women, Be ye not afraid; for I know that ye seek Jesus, having been crucified.
6 He is not here: for he was raised, as he said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay.
7 And having gone quickly, say ye to his disciples, that he was raised from the dead; and, behold, he leads before you into Galilee: there shall ye see him: behold I have said to you.
8 And they having come quickly from the tomb, with fear and great joy, ran to announce to his disciples.
9 And as they were going to announce to his disciples, behold, Jesus met them, saying, Rejoice ye. And they having come, held his feet firmly, and worshipped him.
10 Then says Jesus to them, Be ye not afraid: retire, and announce to my brethren that they should go away into Galilee, and there shall they see me.
11 And they going, behold certain of the watch having come to the city, announced to the chief priests all having been done.
12 And having been gathered together with the elders, and having taken counsel, they gave sufficient silver coins to the soldiers,
13 Saying, Say ye, That his disciples having come by night, stole him, we being asleep.
14 And if this should be heard by the leader, we will persuade him, and we will make you undisturbed.
15 And they having received the silver coins, did as they were taught; and this word was spread a report by the Jews till this day.
16 And the eleven disciples went into Galilee, into a mountain, where Jesus commanded them.
17 And having seen him, they worshipped him; and some doubted.
18 And Jesus, having come near, spake to them, saying, All power has been given me in heaven and upon earth:
19 Therefore, having gone, disciple all nations; immersing them into the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit:
20 Teaching them to keep all things whatever I have commanded you; and behold, I am with you all the days, even to the end of time. Amen.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mt 28:1–20). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

4 And having looked up, they saw that the stone was rolled away: for it was very great.
5 And having come to the tomb, they saw a young man sitting on the right, being encompassed with a white robe; and they were terrified.
6 And he says to them, Be not terrified: Ye seek Jesus the Nazarene, being crucified: he was raised; he is not here: see the place where they laid him.
7 But retire ye; say to his disciples and to Peter that he goes before you into Galilee: there shall ye see him, as he said to you.
8 And having come forth quickly, they fled from the tomb; and terror and amazement held them: and they said nothing to any; for they were afraid.

9 And having risen early the first of the sabbath, he was manifested first to Mary Magdalene, from whom he had cast seven demons.
10 She having gone announced to them having been with him, grieving and weeping.
11 And they having heard that he lives, and was seen by her, believed not.
12 And after these things, to two of them, walkingabout, was he manifested in another form, they going into the field.
13 And they having come announced to the rest: neither did they believe them.
14 Afterwards to those reclining at table was he manifested, and he reproached their unbelief and hard heart, because they believed not them having seen him raised.
15 And he said to them, Having gone into all the world proclaim the good news to all creation.
16 And he having believed and having been immersed shall be saved; but he not having believed shall be condemned.
17 And these signs shall follow those having believed; In my name they shall cast out demons; they shall speak with new tongues;
18 They shall take up serpents; and should they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall put hands upon the sick, and they shall be well.
19 Truly therefore the Lord, after he had spoken to them, was taken up into the heavens, and sat on the right hand of God. {our note: see how Jesus did not come to sit on the seat of God, but next to God}
20 And they, having gone forth, proclaimed every where, the Lord performing together, and confirming the word by signs following. Amen.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Mk 16:4–20). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

And in one of the sabbaths, in the depth of the dawn of day, they came to the tomb, bringing spices which they had prepared, and certain with them.
2 And they found the stone rolled away from the tomb.
3 And coming in, they found not the body of the Lord Jesus.
4 And it was in their being perplexed for this, and, behold, two men stood by them in shining garments:
5 And they having been afraid, and bending the face to the earth, they said to them, Why seek ye the living with the dead?
6 He is not here, but has risen: remember how he spake to you being yet in Galilee,
7 Saying, That the Son of man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, and be crucified, and be raised up the third day.
8 And they remembered his words,

9 And having returned from the tomb, they announced these things to the eleven, and to all the rest.
10 And they were Mary Magdalene, and Joanna, and Mary of James, and the rest with them, who said these things to the sent.
11 And their words appeared before them as idle talk, and they believed them not.
12 And Peter having risen, ran to the tomb; and having stooped, saw the linen bandages lying alone, and he departed, wondering in himself at what was done.
13 And, behold, two of them were going in the same day to a town being about sixty stadia from Jerusalem, the name of which Emmaus.
14 And they were conversing with one another concerning all things having happened.
15 And it was in their conversing and seeking out together, and Jesus himself, having drawn near, went with them.
16 And their eyes were holden not to know him.
17 And he said to them, What words these which, walking about, ye discuss with one another, and are of gloomy aspect?
18 And one having answered, to whom the name Cleopas, said to him, Sojournest thou alone in Jerusalem, and knowest not the things done in it in these days?
19 And Jesus said to them, What things? And they said to him, The things concerning Jesus the Nazarite, who was a man, a prophet, powerful in work and words before God and all the people:
20 And how the chief priests and our rulers delivered him to the judgment of death, and crucified him.
21 And we hoped that this is he about to redeem Israel: but also with all these things, to day it brings the third day from which these things were.

22 And also certain women of ours moved us out of place, having been early at the tomb;
23 And not finding his body, they came, saying also to have seen a vision of messengers, who say he is living.
24 And certain of them with us departed to the tomb, and found so as the women said: and him they saw not.
25 And he said to them, O ye unwise, and slow in heart to believe in all things which the prophets spake:
26 Must not Christ suffer these things, and enter into his glory?
27 And having begun from Moses and from all the prophets, he explained clearly to them in all the writings concerning himself.
28 And they drew near to the town where they were going: and he laid claim to go still further.
29 And they constrained him, saying, Remain with us: for it is near eve, and the day has declined. And he went in to remain with them.
30 And it was in his reclining at table with them, having taken bread, he praised, and having broken, bestowed upon them.
31 And their eyes were opened, and they knew him; and he was removed from their view.
32 And they said to one another, Was not our heart burning in us, as he spake to us in the way, and as he opened the writings to us?
33 And having risen the same hour, they returned to Jerusalem, and found the eleven gathered together, and those with them.
34 Saying, That truly the Lord was risen, and was seen to Simon.
35 And they recounted the things in the way, and how he was known to them in the breaking of bread.
36 And they speaking these things, Jesus himself stood in the midst of them, and he says to them, Peace to you.
37 And they, struck with awe and being afraid, thought to see a spirit.
38 And he said to them, Why have ye been troubled? and wherefore do reflections come up in your hearts?
39 See my hands and my feet, for I am he; feel, and see: for a spirit has not flesh and bones, as ye see me having.
40 And having said this, he showed them hands and feet.
41 And yet they not believing from joy, and wondering, he said to them, Have ye any food here?
42 And they bestowed upon him part of a broiled fish, and of an honey comb.
43 And having taken, he ate before them.
44 And he said to them, These the words which I spake to you, being yet with you, for all things must be completed, written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me.
45 Then opened he their understanding, to understand the writings,
46 And he said to them, That so has it been written, and so was it necessary for Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day:
47 And repentance and remission of sins to be proclaimed in his name to all nations, having begun from Jerusalem.
48 And ye are witnesses of these things.
49 And, behold, I send the solemn promise of my Father upon you: and do ye sit in the city of Jerusalem, till ye be clothed with power from on high.
50 And he led them without, even to Bethany, and having lifted up his hands, he praised them.
51 And it was in his praising them, he was separated from them, and carried into heaven.
52 And they having worshipped him, returned to Jerusalem with great joy.
53 And they were always in the temple, praising and extolling God. Amen.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Lk 24:1–53). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

And in one of the sabbaths comes Mary Magdalene in the morning, there yet being darkness, to the tomb, and sees the stone taken away from the tomb.
2 Then she runs, and comes to Simon Peter, and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and says to them, They took away the Lord from the tomb; and we know not where they laid him.
3 Peter then came forth, and the other disciple, and they came to the tomb.
4 And they two ran together: and the other disciple ran before, swifter than Peter, and came first to the tomb.
5 And having stood stooping, he sees the linen bandages lying; yet he did not go in.
6 Then comes Simon Peter following him, and he came into the tomb, and sees the linen bandages lying,
7 And the napkin, which was upon his head, not lying with the linen bandages, but separately inwrapped in one place.
8 Then, therefore, went in also the other disciple, having first come to the tomb, and he saw, and believed.
9 For not yet knew they the writing, that he must rise from the dead.
10 Then went away the disciples again by themselves.
11 And Mary stood near the tomb weeping without: therefore as she wept, she stood stooping into the tomb,
12 And sees two messengers in white, sitting, one at the head, and one at the feet, where the body of Jesus was laid.
13 And they say to her, Woman, why weepest thou? She says to them, Because they took away my Lord, and I know not where they laid him.
14 And having said these, she was turned back, and sees Jesus standing, and she knew not that it is Jesus.
15 Jesus says to her, Woman, why weepest thou? whom seekest thou? She, thinking that it is the gardener, says to him, Lord, if thou didst bear him away, say where thou hast laid him, and I will take him away.
16 Jesus says to her, Mary. She having turned, says to him, Rabboni; which is called, Teacher.
17 Jesus says to her, Touch me not; for I have not yet ascended to my Father: and go thou to my brethren, and say to them, I ascend to my Father, and your Father; to my God, and your God.

18 Mary Magdalene comes announcing to the disciples that she has seen the Lord, and he said these to her.
19 Then it being evening, in that one day of the sabbaths, and the doors shut where the disciples were gathered together for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in the midst, and says to them, Peace to you.
20 And having said this, he showed them his hands, and his side. Then the disciples rejoiced, having seen the Lord.
21 Then said Jesus again to them, Peace to you: as the Father has sent me, I also send you.
22 And having said this, he inspired, and says to them, Receive the Holy Spirit:
23 Whose soever sins ye remit, they are remitted to them; whose soever ye retain, they have been retained.

Smith, J. E. (Trans.). (1876). The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments; Translated Literally from the Original Tongues (Jn 20:1–23). Hartford, CT: American Publishing Company.

As the world and its desires pass our ways, and we cross so many who do not want to accept that there is Only One True God, the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Jesus and his disciples, we should be thankful that there was this Nazarene man of flesh and blood who wanted to do the Will of God instead of his own will, and who wante d to give his life for the sins of many. Let us therfore believe in him, who is the Kristos or Christ, the Messiah, the Anointed and son of God.

°°°

+

Preceding

The Greatness of the eternal God

The 1st Adam in the Hebrew Scriptures #1 Beginning of everything

The 1st Adam in the Hebrew Scriptures #7 Promise and solution

Hope that those who take Jesus as their god shall come to accept and subject to him

A Messiah to die

Why Did Christ Die on the stake

Memorizing wonderfully 73: 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18 Sleepers with hope

Not making a runner

Next: When you believe Jesus is God: who do you think is the mediator?

++

Additional reading

  1. People Seeking for God 1 Looking for answers
  2. People Seeking for God 5 Bread of life
  3. “Who is The Most High” ? Who is thee Eternal? Who is Yehovah? Who is God?
  4. God of gods
  5. God is One
  6. Attributes to God
  7. God should be your hope
  8. Americans their stars, pretension, God, Allah and end of times signs #1 Abrahamic religions
  9. Americans their stars, pretension, God, Allah and end of times signs #2 War on God’s Plan, Name and title
  10. A Book to trust #3 Creation and Creator
  11. A Book to trust #6 True God and true words
  12. A Book to trust #13 Books for education and adjustment
  13. A Book to trust #14 Writings to show The God #1 The I Am that I Am
  14. A Book to trust #15 Writings to show The God #2 Importance of Being
  15. A Book to trust #29 God His Book, God-breathed profitable for doctrine, for reproof and for correction
  16. An openingschapter explaining why things are like they are and why we may have hope for better things
  17. Possible arguments and proofs about the existence of God #1
  18. Possible arguments and proofs about the existence of God #2
  19. 4th Question: Who or What is God
  20. The I Am to explore
  21. O God, How Long? ~ Psalm 74
  22. A Start for looking at the unseen and the treasure to look forward to
  23. No man see the Almighty God and live
  24. Almighty God above all other gods greater than all gods
  25. The Presence of God
  26. The very very beginning 1 Creating Gods
  27. The very very beginning 2 The Word and words
  28. Necessity of a revelation of creation 3 Getting understanding by Word of God 1
  29. The habitual misreading of John 1 and the ‘Word being God’ #2
  30. Relating to God is it possible
  31. A voice cries out: context
  32. Seeing or not seeing and willingness to find God
  33. Men who believed and had faith in a Higher Power they could not see
  34. Forbidden Fruit in the Midst of the Garden 4
  35. First mention of a solution against death 5 Evil its law of death
  36. Many were made sinners through one man and justified by one man
  37. Trinitarians making their proof for existence of God look ridiculous #2
  38. Trinitarians making their proof for existence of God look ridiculous #5
  39. Trinitarians making their proof for existence of God look ridiculous #7
  40. Trinitarians making their proof for existence of God look ridiculous #8
  41. A god who gave his people commandments and laws he knew they never could keep to it
  42. To believe in the liberation of slavery and to repent
  43. Being in tune with God
  44. Counterfeit Gospels
  45. Holding fast on some one unique and able to trust
  46. Reasons that Jesus was not God
  47. Jesus and his God
  48. Jesus the “God-Man”: Really?
  49. Concerning Christ #2 Divine source, connection and divine human being
  50. Omniscient God opposite a not knowing Jesus
  51. The high calling of God in Christ Jesus
  52. Jesus Messiah
  53. On the Nature of Christ
  54. Christ begotten through the power of the Holy Spirit
  55. A Messiah to die
  56. Jesus memorial
  57. Days of Nisan, Pesach, Pasach, Pascha and Easter
  58. No person has greater love than this one who surrendered his soul in behalf of his friends
  59. The redemption of man by Christ Jesus
  60. The day Jesus died
  61. Impaled until death overtook him
  62. Get Your Wonderful Disease-proof Human Body
  63. Jesus three days in hell
  64. Why think that (3) … Jesus rose from the dead
  65. Jesus is risen
  66. Christ has indeed been raised from the dead
  67. Through Christ’s death you can be adopted as a child of God
  68. Jesus is risen
  69. In the death of Christ, the son of God, is glorification
  70. Jesus begotten Son of God #11 Existence and Genesis Raising up
  71. Seeing Jesus
  72. Faith a commitment to the promises of Christ and to to the demands of Christ
  73. Risen With Him
  74. Jesus begotten Son of God #6 Anointed Son of God, Adam and Abraham
  75. Jesus begotten Son of God #19 Compromising fact
  76. Wishing to do the will of God
  77. Ember and light the ransomed of Jehovah
  78. Ransom for all
  79. An unblemished and spotless lamb foreknown
  80. The Song of The Lamb #5 Revelation 5
  81. The Song of The Lamb #8 Revelation 15 Lessons for us today
  82. Christ having glory
  83. Sitting at the right hand of God
  84. One mediator
  85. One Mediator between God and man
  86. No Other Name (But Jesus)
  87. Why do we need a ransom?
  88. The wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ
  89. Infinite payment of sin by the son of God
  90. Two states of existence before God
  91. After darkness a moment of life renewal
  92. True Hope
  93. Epitome of the one faith
  94. Our relationship with God, Jesus and eachother
  95. Something Most False Christians Have In Common
  96. Theologians and a promised Spirit to enlighten us
  97. Truth, doubt or blindness

+++

pissed off Jesus 1 last day

Related

  1. The Only Wise God
  2. God is One, Void is None
  3. Sunday Reflection: God as Eternal
  4. Our Enduring God
  5. Can You Dissect God?
  6. May The Father of Lights Shine On You.
  7. Holy Father, Holy Son, Holy Spirit!
  8. Who is Jesus Christ?
  9. Christianity = all about Jesus. How to enter the kingdom of God.
  10. You are Invited
  11. Scripture at Sunrise 4.25.2019
  12. Yeshua (Jesus)
  13. Jesus Christ the lamb of God
  14. Birth of Jesus, East Gate & His Death Hour
  15. Christ Fulfills All Old Testament Laws
  16. 011 – Christ Died (A Good Friday Meditation)
  17. The Best Quote – Ever. Eternal.
  18. A Good Friday Meditation
  19. Love Easter
  20. Jesus Died on What Date?
  21. Sunday Morning 8/12: Jesus’ Resurrection
  22. Word for the day “The message of the Cross”
  23. Word for the day “Resurrection Message”
  24. Infinite payment of sin by the son of God
  25. Believing Fully in the Promises
  26. Darkness Highlights Hope
  27. Come and See God
  28. Get His Life
  29. See the Glory
  30. Advent ~ To See God, To see Love
  31. Love of God
  32. Sunday 5/20 ~ What is your deepest longing?
  33. Jesus is Not the Savior!!!!!
  34. *Undeniable* On Earth as in Heaven

19 thoughts on “When you believe Jesus is God, do you think he died?

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.