Jesus never claimed equality with God

The idea that Jesus is in all respects equal to his Father is on several occasions denied by Jesus himself.

The references are unmistakeable:

‘…for my Father is greater than I.‘John 14.28

‘Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of himself, but what he sees the Father do.‘ John 5.19

‘I can of myself do nothing.’ John 5.30

‘He went away again a second time and prayed, saying, “O my Father, if this cup cannot pass away from me unless I drink it, your will be done” Matthew 26.42

+

Preceding

When you believe Jesus is God, do you think he died?

When you believe Jesus is God: who do you think is the mediator? #1 Son of man

When you believe Jesus is God: who do you think is the mediator? #2 Firstborn from the dead our advocate

The son of man given authority by God

Authority given to him To give eternal life

List of some of the important beliefs of the early Christians

Memorizing wonderfully 42 Equality with God & doing nothing of himself

Memorizing wonderfully 70: Philippians 2:6 Who, being in the form of God

Not my will, but thine be done

++

Additional reading

  1. Who Is Jesus? God, or unique Man?
  2. The saviour Jesus his human side
  3. Omniscient God opposite a not knowing Jesus
  4. Getting out of the dark corners of this world

+++

Related

  1. Who is Forsaken?
  2. The One Who Would Die, that Others Will Live
  3. Up First or Down First?

One thought on “Jesus never claimed equality with God

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.