Today’s thought “Faith in Troubled Times” (January 14)

How many times we have to face difficulties or have to endure troubled times?

In the reading of the book of Psalms for today, we find David praying to his Most High God in Whom he is willing to put all his trust.

David admits that he is in trouble and that he recognises the Eternal Elohim Jehovah as his shelter, his soul’s sanctuary. He asks God to shield him from shame, never to be disgraced. He pleads God to be a rock of refuge, a stronghold for his deliverance, since Jehovah is his rock and his fortress, willing to lead and guide David for His Name’s sake.

«For the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David.» In thee, O Jehovah, do I take refuge; Let me never be put to shame: Deliver me in thy righteousness. 2 Bow down thine ear unto me; Deliver me speedily: Be thou to me a strong rock, A house of defence to save me. 3 For thou art my rock and my fortress; Therefore for thy name’s sake lead me and guide me. 4 Pluck me out of the net that they have laid privily for me; For thou art my stronghold.” (Ps 31:1-4 ASV)

“1  In thee, O Jehovah, do I take refuge: Let me never be put to shame. 2 Deliver me in thy righteousness, and rescue me: Bow down thine ear unto me, and save me. 3 Be thou to me a rock of habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: Thou hast given commandment to save me; For thou art my rock and my fortress.” (Ps 71:1-3 ASV)

We may trust the Sustainer of life that He is willing to help all those who are prepared to take Him as their Only One God. Like so many sent ones and men from God trusted in Him and tried to live according His Will, we, like them, should not be afraid that God would abandon us and leave us boiling in our problems. God shall not put us in shame.

“ O my God, in thee have I trusted, Let me not be put to shame; Let not mine enemies triumph over me.” (Ps 25:2 ASV)

More than once people of God prayed to Him and asked to give ear to the supplications.

“ «A Psalm of David.» Hear my prayer, O Jehovah; Give ear to my supplications: In thy faithfulness answer me, and in thy righteousness.” (Ps 143:1 ASV)

Perhaps you to say to God:

“You are my God.” Hear, O LORD, my cry for mercy.” (Ps 140:6)

We too should sing of the Elohim’s great love for ever. With our mouth we also should make God His faithfulness known through all generations and declare that His love stands firm for ever.

“ For I have said, Mercy shall be built up for ever; Thy faithfulness wilt thou establish in the very heavens.” (Ps 89:2 ASV)

When we entrust our spirit into God His Hands, the God of truth and faithfulness can set our feet in a wide-open place getting us out of a tight spot.

“ Have mercy upon me, O Jehovah, for I am in distress: Mine eye wasteth away with grief, yea, my soul and my body.” (Ps 31:9 ASV)

We should not hide ourselves from others nor from God, Who is prepared to listen to all that wants to come to Him and to all who are in trouble. Even when our eyes grow weak with sorrow, failing because of all our foes, we should dare to come to God like David did.

“ Mine eye wasteth away because of grief; It waxeth old because of all mine adversaries.” (Ps 6:7 ASV)

Earnestly we have to seek God. Like David our soul has to thirsts for Him who is above all kings and other gods.

“ «A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.» O God, thou art my God; earnestly will I seek thee: My soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee, In a dry and weary land, where no water is.” (Ps 63:1 ASV)

Love the Eternal, all of you, and make sure that you may belong to His faithful people! Be assured that He is the One Who protects those who are true to Him, but He pays back the proud in kind. Therefore, praise Jehovah God His holy name, come together as brethren and sisters to encourage each other and to be strong. Live courageously, all of you who set your hope in the Eternal!

“ Sing praise unto Jehovah, O ye saints of his, And give thanks to his holy memorial name.” (Ps 30:4 ASV)

“ For Jehovah loveth justice, And forsaketh not his saints; They are preserved for ever: But the seed of the wicked shall be cut off.” (Ps 37:28 ASV)

“ Gather my saints together unto me, Those that have made a covenant with me by sacrifice.” (Ps 50:5 ASV)

“23 Oh love Jehovah, all ye his saints: Jehovah preserveth the faithful, And plentifully rewardeth him that dealeth proudly. 24 Be strong, and let your heart take courage, All ye that hope in Jehovah.” (Ps 31:23-24 ASV)

6 thoughts on “Today’s thought “Faith in Troubled Times” (January 14)

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.