Today’s thought “Jehovah God makes us dwell in safety and confident trust” (January 02)

Today’s thought

“Jehovah God makes us dwell in safety and confident trust”

(January 02)

We opened the New Year by looking at the beginning of all things (in the Genesis chapters 1 & 2) and how those who keep to God’s Word can be blessed (Psalm 1). We best try to belong to the happy, fortunate, prosperous, and enviable people.

Meditating on the Word of God Brethren in Christ follow a Reading Plan making sure they would read the whole Bible in a  year. On the second day of the year we wonder why lovers of God got so many people against them. As followers of Christ we may count on his heavenly Father Who helped His anointed sons David and Jeshua (Jesus). Like they could count on the Most High Almighty we too can trust Him. When following His commands He shall bring us comfort in our hearts and joyful peace.

As Brethren in Christ we do not have a need to follow the counsel of those not interested in God or the wicked. We do know that life is not always easy. We do know we do have to fight against certain temptations. We have to face pressures and demands from outside of our homes, at work, in the sport-club and in public places where we go.

In today’s Genesis reading we do find a husband and wife accusing each other, both trying to escape their own responsibility (Gen 3:12-13). Later, in the second reading of today, their own children going against each other (Gen 4:3-5,8). In the third reading of the day we find a terrible happening, David running for his life, endangered by his own son. Once more we come to read about trouble in the family with serious consequences.

In the Bible we do find the weaknesses of those who wrote down the words God asked them to write down. We hear that great king, David, calling out to the God of gods, hoping to find in Him some refuge. Though many may say to us like to David that there is no help nor salvation, we should know better.

Confidence in Troubled Times

A psalm of David when he fled from his son Absalom.

Lord, how my foes increase!
There are many who attack me.
Many say about me,
“There is no help for him in God.”Selah

But You, Lord, are a shield around me,
my glory, and the One who lifts up my head. {Psalm 3:1-3Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)}

Jehovah God can be a shield for you and me. We should trust Him Who is above all people and to Whom man can do nothing.
As Jehovah God was David’s glory and by Whom he was lifted up, God is ready to receive us and willing to hear our voice. But than we too have to call on to God personally, like David did in those difficult hours, and Jesus also did in his time of worry just before he got imprisoned.

How is your position? Are you so afraid you cannot sleep? Or do you think like David?

I am not afraid of the thousands of people
who have taken their stand against me on every side. {Psalm 3:6Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)}

We can pledge to the Most High that He will be with us. In God we shall be able to find our defender because the Almighty has chosen the righteous for His own, and is willing to hear those who call onto Him.

A Night Prayer

For the choir director: with stringed instruments. A Davidic psalm.

Answer me when I call,
God, who vindicates me.[Or God of my righteousness]
You freed me from affliction;
be gracious to me and hear my prayer. {Psalm 4:1Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)}

Know that the Lord has set apart
the faithful for Himself;
the Lord will hear when I call to Him.

Many are saying, “Who can show us anything good?”
Look on us with favor, Lord.

You have put more joy in my heart
than they have when their grain and new wine abound.
I will both lie down and sleep in peace,
for You alone, Lord, make me live in safety. {Psalm 4:1;3,6-8Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

+++

Related articles

  1. P is for Psalms
  2. Psalm 3-Psalm with an Author
  3. Psalm 3, “you, O Lord, are a shield around me”
  4. Psalm 3: Save Me, O My God
  5. The Lord upholds me (Psalm 3)

6 thoughts on “Today’s thought “Jehovah God makes us dwell in safety and confident trust” (January 02)

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.