My soul longs for your salvation

“My soul longs for …”

These are the first words in our Psalms reading; what does your soul long for, is it the same as the Psalmist? We read,

My soul longs for your salvation; I hope in your word. My eyes long for your promise …” (119:81,82).

There is real urgency in his expressions – do we share that sense of urgency?

Then we come to 3 extra special verses (verses 97-99) it would be good to memorize. They start,

“O how love I your law! It is my meditation all the day; your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers, for your testimonies are my meditation”.

God’s law is to be loved, to be meditated upon – and the result of doing this, the Psalmist says,

“I hold back my feet from every evil way in order to keep your word” (verse 101).

His next thoughts are,

“… you have taught me. How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth … therefore I hate every false way”.

The Psalmist continues,

“Your testimonies are my heritage forever, for they are the joy of my heart” (verse 111).

The “law” that the Israelites were expected to “love” was no set of ‘thou shalt not’s. Jesus found them “sweet” and as we read Luke 2 we pondered the conversation that the 12-year-old Jesus had in the temple – where Mary and Joseph eventually found him “sitting among the teachers … asking them questions. And all who heard him were amazed at his understanding and his answers” (verses 46,47).

The chapter concludes in this lovely way, “And Jesus increased in wisdom and in stature (or years) and in favour with God and man”. May we all do the same, although it is becoming increasingly difficult to increase in favour with our fellow humans because of the great God-less state of the world that is now around us, but this will lead us to say with greater and greater fervency and meaning,

My soul longs for your salvation”.

– Thought of the day by the Christadelphian

+

Preceding article: Increased in wisdom in favour with God

+++

  • Food for Thought-I’m Not Sure I Want to Be Washed Whiter Than Snow (richardsfoodforthought.com)
    I don’t want to be washed white as fresh snow. I don’t think Jesus wants me washed as white as the wind driven snow on a George Winston CD cover. Jesus needs me dirty, tarnished, muddy, and filthy. Because this is who Jesus has called me to serve, love, and live among.
  • Sunday Reflections, March 8 (quinhillyer.com)
    We’ve gone from The Law to Christ’s anger at the perversion of the holy place where The Law is supposed to be most paramount — and to Christ’s veiled prediction of His own resurrection (three days), after which we now know (but His listeners didn’t then) that He would institute an entirely new covenant that would not replace The Law, but would in God’s time supersede it.
  • Lent Day 10: All In (40daysoflentenpraise.wordpress.com)
    I am wondering, “Have I really given my full attention and heart to GOD?” It is easy to say “Yes”, however if I am able to give more attention to GOD now during Lent,  does that mean I was withholding something before? If there is more of me to give, then what and why was I holding back?
  • Galatians 6 (cutpaste.typepad.com)
    Don’t be deceived, nothing good you do out of love for God is a waste of time. You will reap what you sow. If you sow selfishly to satisfy your desires or sinful pleasures you will reap major destruction.  But if you sow to please the Spirit you’re going to reap eternal life and an eternal reward! The day will come when you reap everything you’ve sowed.
  • Fellowship with Jesus When Our Heart Is Clean (fbcpolson.wordpress.com)
    Nothing beats closer to my heart than the yearningto be pure before my Lord. I know that sweet fellowship with Jesus that comes when my heart is clean. And nothing, no nothing, surpasses that in this world.Are you failing in your Christian life because you are not pure? If you are, you’re not alone. It seems as though a sewer pipe of filth and debauchery has broken and poured out into our world. Someone has well said, “Not since Manhattan Island was sold for 24 dollars has so much dirt been sold so cheaply as it is here in America.”
  • Picking and Choosing from the Old Testament? (aaronbair.com)

    Why are there laws we don’t follow (dietary restrictions) and some we do? And what is the difference/how do we tell the difference?

    This is a common question that’s lobbed to Christians. Another way to phrase it is: Why do Christians pick and choose passages in the Bible? It is often claimed that Christians like to choose certain passages that are nice in the Old Testament, and reject others that may seem harsh and immoral.

  • Dining on a Different Kind of Bread! (Post #2,059) (ourdailybread101.wordpress.com)
    Jesus said “For I AM the Way the Truth and the Life; no one comes to the Father except through Me.”
  • God’s Voice Or Mine? Knowing the difference, part 3 (faithsighanddiy.com)
    The healthy Christian is not necessarily the extrovert, ebullient Christian, but the Christian who has a sense of God’s presence stamped deep on his soul, who trembles at God’s word, who lets it dwell in him richly by constant meditation upon it, and who tests and reforms his life daily in response to it.
  • Today’s Scrip-Bit 28 February 2015 Psalm 62:7‏ (randyobrien50.wordpress.com)
    Unfortunately though, too many of us take the things given to us by Almighty God for granted, and just go about our worldly business without even a thought for Him. But when the heifer dust hits the fan, and the bucket bottom drops out, we’re quick to cry out: ‘Oh God, help me!’ However Friends, life doesn’t work that way. We need to acknowledge the One who created us and keeps us going in this evil and dangerous world.
  • Monday, 23 February 2015 : 1st Week of Lent, Memorial of St. Polycarp, Bishop and Martyr (Psalm) (petercanisiusmichaeldavidkang.com)
    The Law of the Lord is perfect; it gives life to the soul. The word of the Lord is trustworthy : it gives wisdom to the simple.The precepts of the Lord are right : they give joy to the heart. The commandments of the Lord are clear : they enlighten the eyes.
2 thoughts on “My soul longs for your salvation

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

