Let us recognise how great God is

Now we have looked at the Book of Job and saw how humankind position was and is in the Creation of the Lord of lords, we can praise the Most High Elohim Jehovah our Strenght the Only One God:

An early printing of Luther's hymn A Mighty Fo...
An early printing of Luther's hymn A Mighty Fortress is Our God (Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott)

HOW GREAT THOU ART

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
Consider all the works thy hands have made
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder
Thy power throughout the universe displayed

When through the woods and forest glades I wander
And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees
When I look down from lofty mountain grandeur
And hear the brook and feel the gentle breeze

Then sings my soul, my Saviour, God, to thee
How great thou art, how great thou art
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to thee
How great thou art, how great thou art.

°°°

If we ever begin to downsize God and think that he is not much more than us, we need to re-read Job chapters 38-39. The power and glory of God leaps off the pages displaying his awesome majesty and creative works. What hope does any man have of answering his questions?
All we can do is bow in humility and worship, giving honour and praise to our creator.

O Lord my God, how great thou art!

*

From our brother Robert Prins [Auckland – Pakuranga – (NZ)]  whose great “Thinky Things” you can find in our bookshops and in the Christadelphian Daily comments for the Daily Bible Readings

+++

How Great Thou Art“, a Christian hymn based on a Swedish poem written by Carl Gustav Boberg (1859–1940) in Sweden in 1885.
1973 edition of The Covenant Hymnbook was:

O mighty God, when I behold the wonder
Of nature’s beauty, wrought by words of thine,
And how thou leadest all from realms up yonder,
Sustaining earthly life with love benign,

Refrain:
With rapture filled, my soul thy name would laud,
O mighty God! O mighty God! (repeat)

When I behold the heavens in their vastness,
Where golden ships in azure issue forth,
Where sun and moon keep watch upon the fastness
Of changing seasons and of time on earth.

When crushed by guilt of sin before thee kneeling,
I plead for mercy and for grace and peace,
I feel thy balm and, all my bruises healing,
My soul is filled, my heart is set at ease.

And when at last the mists of time have vanished
And I in truth my faith confirmed shall see,
Upon the shores where earthly ills are banished
I’ll enter Lord, to dwell in peace with thee.

8 thoughts on “Let us recognise how great God is

Geef een reactie - Give a reaction

